33 Mayo AC runners complete Dublin City Marathon

Mayo AC runners kitted out and prepared for motion within the Dublin Metropolis Marathon.

MAYO AC have been in Dublin on Sunday, October 30, to compete within the Dublin Metropolis Marathon.

The race integrated Athletics Eire Nationwide Marathon Championships.

They have been there in power with a wonderful squad of 33, all of whom had ready effectively to embrace the race and benefit from the expertise and distinctive environment.

All contributors have been greater than delighted to have the chance to run the Dublin Metropolis Marathon as soon as once more – the primary in-person version of the occasion since 2019.

For most of the Mayo AC runners it was an emotional morning, and a poignant day – a combination of excited anticipation and unhappiness.

Mayo AC runners have been sporting black ribbons on their singlets in reminiscence of their pal and clubmate Michael McNeela.

Simply earlier than the beginning the race announcer learn this message: “Over 30 Mayo AC rivals are right here at present sporting black ribbons on their distinctive purple and inexperienced singlets in reminiscence of their pal and clubmate, Michael McNeela, who handed away immediately simply 11 days in the past on October 19.

“He had skilled laborious for the marathon and was working sturdy to be right here at present.

“Michael had accomplished three Dublin Metropolis Marathons beforehand, working a 3:14 PB in 2015.

“He’s fondly remembered by his working household at present.”

Initially, race organisers additionally acknowledged the reminiscence of Pat Hooper, Irish Olympian, who handed away immediately in October 2020. That morning, for the primary time in 20 years, the Dublin Marathon befell with out Pat as official race referee.

Race day was good for working (14°C), brilliant, with a breeze in locations.

Many within the Mayo AC squad have been seeking to higher earlier Dublin end occasions, some have been working their first Dublin, and a pair their first marathon.

Their first finisher was Eamonn Joyce who ran the race of his life, ending in a superb 2:41 and inside seconds of a destructive cut up. He completed with a wonderful new PB too – he ran 2:54 within the Clogher marathon two years in the past.

There have been additionally sensible PBs amongst seven sub-3 finishers – each Tadgh Hanrahan and John Gordon ran 2:50, and Gerry Kirrane clocked 2:58. Nice working too by Mark Basquille, Darren Flanagan and Colin McDermott –all dipped below three hours.

Colette Tuohy was Mayo first lady finisher, as she was in her debut marathon in 2019 in 3:07.

She ran lots of of kilometres in coaching with Michael McNeela alongside the greenway and the roads and lanes close to Castlebar. She caught in courageously over the powerful remaining kilometres to cross the Merrion Sq. end line in 3:20.

Not far behind have been Anne Marie Staunton and Paula Donnellan who each completed in 3:33, working persistently effectively to match their 2019 occasions.

Tony Hegarty knocked a formidable 23 minutes off his earlier greatest with a well-paced 3:35 run. Padraic McVann had an excellent race too, coming residence in 3:29.

Newcomer and M70 runner Patrick Sweeney clocked 3:41 – a brilliant time – and he’s most likely assured a nationwide silver medal in his class, following his gold within the half-marathon final month in Fairyhouse.

All finishers have tales of their marathon day.

Submit-race evaluation will embody reduction, exhilaration, disappointment and all the opposite feelings that this adrenaline-filled day engenders.

For now it’s time to have a good time their achievements – relaxation and restoration to observe. Congratulations to all of them.

Enormous because of all who supported them within the run as much as the occasion firstly, across the course (‘Up Mayo’ was a typical chorus from spectators), and on the end space.

Dublin Metropolis Marathon – Mayo AC finishers (unofficial occasions)

1: Eamonn Joyce MS 2:41.42, 2: Tadgh Hanrahan M40 2:50.10, 3: John Gordon M45 2:50.53, Mark Basquille M40 2:57.28, Gerry Kirrane M40 2:58.32, Darren Flanagan M35 2:59.28, Colin McDermott M35 2.59:46, Michael Rocke M35 3:08.57, Sean Hynes MS 3:10.51, John Nolan M45 3:11.02, 1 Colette Tuohy W50 3:20.32, John Higgins M35 3:25.47, Shane Heneghan MS 3:28.50, Padraic McVann M50 3:29.15, 2 Anne Marie Staunton W40 3:33.25, 3 Paula Donnellan W40 3:33.37, Tony Hegarty M55 3:35.48, Patrick Sweeney M70 3:41.37, Damien Glackin M45 3:46.59, Kevin Donnellan M40 3:47.26, Brian Derrig M40 3:49.06, Tom Jennings M55 3:51.47, Damien Finnegan M40 3:54.39, Noelle Kilduff W35 3:55.59, John Nyland M50 3:58.45, Angela McVann W50 4:07.15, Donna Gallagher W45 4:07.55, Julie Higgins W40 4:11.12, Monica Joyce W60 4:20.14, Marcella McDonnell W55 4:23.26, Frank Cloherty M45 4:32.10, Colette McTigue W50 5:07.38, Patricia Nyland W50 5:28.53.

Source link

Leave a Comment